Its OK. Its Just The Douches At Westboro…

The German anti-Nazi theologian and Lutheran pastor, Martin Niemöller once wrote something that has been very widely reported and often misquoted:

When the Nazis came for the communists,

I remained silent.

I was not a communist.

 

When they locked up the social democrats,

I remained silent,

I was not a social democrat.

 

Then they came for the trade unionists,

I said nothing.

I was not a trade unionist.

 

When they came for me,

there was no one left to speak out.

                                 Translated from the original German webpage source by Google Translate.

Although one could argue we are already seeing this behavior in the way those on the left and in the mainstream media skew their reporting of anything even remotely right-of center and most people are content to let it slide, I really believe that we are witnessing the start of this kind of thing in the United States, today, with the recent “doc drop” on the Westboro Baptist Church.

Now, I have no love for Westboro and their tactics, and seeing people turning up and counter-protesting against and/or shielding those targeted by the Westboro is a great thing, but to disrespect their privacy, especially in response to their plans – not even actions, just plans –  to protest, is just intimidation of them to prevent them from asserting their First Amendment right, which makes the action by Anonymous somewhat terrorist-like in its scope. After all, as I type and publish this blog entry, I keep asking myself, “what’s to stop someone destroying my life, by dropping my docs, just because they don’t like the content of this blog entry?”.

So let me paraphrase Herr Niemöller:

When the they came for the Westboro Baptist Church,

I remained silent.

I was not a fan of Westboro Baptist Church.

Obviously, I’m not being silent, in my little allocation of internet space, as I have written this entry, but we all need to keep not being silent, otherwise, when they came for us, there will be no one left to speak out…

Dudge OH Politics

About Dudge OH Politics
Former lefty Welshman now a righty American. Loves: family, freedom, liberty, OH & USA.

One Response to Its OK. Its Just The Douches At Westboro…

  1. Where in Christianity is hate-mongering an involved practice? What are Fred Phelps and the WBC afraid of anyhow? Rainbows? Unicorns? A flaming pink queer apocalypse? I attempted to address this with a portrait of the good reverend on my artist’s blog at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2011/03/fred-phelps-and-westboro-baptist-church.html Drop in and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

Phoenix - The Rebirth of My Life

Raise mental illness awareness. Stop the stigma. Save a life.

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Liberty Chick

Researcher | Activist | Writer

Fuzzy Logic

Just another blogger blogging

Barracuda Brigade

100% committed to common sense conservative principles!

Grumpygator

hungry old gator with an appetite for incompetent politicians

Unearthing the Truth

"All great change in America begins at the dinner table" ~Ronald Reagan

Arizona Luke

The Place Where I Write About Stuff

Cultural Hegemony

Because Politics is Downstream of Pop-Culture

The Busy Post

------ "Nowhere at present is there such a measureless loathing of their country by educated people as in America." ------ Eric Hoffer

Princess of Swords

Frontal cortex emesis between novels.

Kevin's Rants

Writings From a Pro-Freedom Perspective

toddhagopian

Business, Social Media & Politics

Idea Capitalists

An Idea Is Only As Good As It's Execution

VoicingMyPersonalOpinion

My whole blog shows troll harassment of me for years on twitter. I decided to blog it, because frankly, I did not think anyone would beleive it.

Publius 2013

To preserve and defend the Constitution. If that means exposing the truth and naming the names, then so be it.

Political Musings-At the Sunset of My Life

Just another WordPress.com site

True American Liberty

Power To The People

Marine Vet For Freedom

Accurate Commentary on Today's Issues

